Are Occasional Gulps At The Top Normal?

Guest trebor

Guest trebor

Hi,

I'm a bit of a newbie to goldies, but not to fish keeping. I have been keeping tropicals for a few years, (I also have a 2 gal planted betta tank and a 90 gal planted discus community tank.)

I have recently set up a 30 gal tank with an internal filter - rated for 75litres, along with an eheim 2213 canister (so plenty of filtration and lots of water movement. I also have an airstone just in case.

My fantail Fred seems very happy but occassionally takes a gulp at the top of the tank. Particularly when he's begging for food.

I just added two small ranchus (Felix and Millie) and and they don't hang at the top or anything...

Is this OK?

I know that you are supposed to avoid them eating at the top and gulping in air...

Fred's in very good health, no flashing or sustained gulping so I don't think its flukes... :idont

I'm keen to hear others experiences.

Is the tank cycled? Only tropicals are really a whooooole different ballgame to goldfish and basically produce about 100 x more ammonia than a tropical fish so really are a lot higher maintenance fish.

If the tank is well cycled and pH is stable, then an occasional gulping (providing there is also plenty of dissolved oxygen) may just mean you need to vary his diet. Fresh veggies, peas etc. Commercial fish food alone is not recommended for goldfish.

One of our goldies (Gigi, for those who are interested) used to do it a lot. She more or less stopped doing it once we changes from feeding them flakes to feeding them pellets, although she still does it every so often (despite good water conditions).

Guest trebor
One of our goldies (Gigi, for those who are interested) used to do it a lot. She more or less stopped doing it once we changes from feeding them flakes to feeding them pellets, although she still does it every so often (despite good water conditions).