Pearlscale And A Ranchu?

lockhart_13

First let me say that I am an absolute novice that is trying hard to do the right thing, but there is so much contradictory information on the net. Every time I develop some confidence in the decisions I've made I come across some info stating that it was absolutely the wrong thing to do. Having said all that let me get to the point of my post.

I have a new to me 26 gallon bow front tank with a Fluval 205 filter. I treated the water and let it run for a couple of weeks. The ph out of the tap at my place is 7.5 and the overall temperature of the tank is 70 degrees. I am struggling a bit to keep it under 70 as I live in Texas and its 100 degrees here everyday in the summer.

A week ago I got a small (less than 2 inches) Pearlscale. I did a lot of reading up on them ahead of time and feel prepared to give him the special attention Pearlscale's need. (Although, today I read that my tank might be too deep for him to thrive. I hope not)

I would like to add one more small fancy goldfish to my tank. I am choosing small fish because I really want to watch them grow up. I am prepared to upgrade the tank to a 55 gallon in the future should that become necessary for their well being.

I understand that any other goldfish I put in with my Pearlie must be a slow swimmer too. That is why I was thinking along the lines of a Lionhead or a Ranchu, I also would really like to have a goldfish with a wen.

What would be a good companion for my little guy?

Is there anything drastically wrong with my current set up?

How much longer should I wait before adding my second fish?

Thank you.

I have 3 pearscales in a 110 gallon tank so I think you're depth is ok. I also have a ryukin, fantail,and oranda in with them and they all do just fine together. I think that your pearscale would do fine.

First, welcome to Kokos! :welcome We're happy to have you here and please ask all the questions you want! We love to help!