Ideas For A Goldfish Schedule...

Hi everyone,

I hope I'm not driving everyone crazy with my one million questions. I promise I will start posting on other people's posts once I feel like I have some knowledge under my belt. I'm trying to get on a weekly schedule with my fish as far as feeding and cleaning goes and I want to see if what I have been doing is good.

So far I start the morning with pre-soaked flakes (though I'm hoping to switch this to a homemade gel food soon). I leave the light on for 8 hours for my Amazon Sword Plant, but because my tank is small and gets hot quickly this time of year that is it for the light.

Then the second feeding at night is either brine shrimp or fruits and veggies.

I just read that Koko suggests feeding only once a day, so I'm wondering if I should change this.

Then on Saturdays I do peas and Sunday is fasting day and cleaning about fifty percent of the water and siphoning the gravel.

Any suggestions/improvements on this schedule?

Thanks!

Amy

Yup, once a day is plenty for goldfish. Then give the fruit or veggies as one of the day's food, like in the middle of the week. The fasting and peas are good, but you should probably switch them. Fasting, then peas. Sounds like you're doing pretty good otherwise. Just keep tabs on the water quality.

Oh, and like they say, there are no stupid questions. We love people who want to learn and we love helping! And, you may not yet be able to give educated advice to anyone who asks a question, but we're happy to have you chime in with just a wish for good luck and support!

Edited by lynda441

The results you are getting on your water tests should help you determine how often and how much to feed and how often and how much water to change. Each aquarium is different, so you need to judge what "works" in your particular system.