Mouth Rot

i'm still new to fishkeeping so i'm just trying to brush up on signs and symptoms of different diseases. i'm just starting to dig in to mouth rot. how can you tell if its the beginnings of mouthrot or not? is it a growth and swelling of the mouth or a blood streak in the mouth or something different? are there any other symptoms that pre-empt mouth rot that we all should be watching for? is mouth rot a fungus or a bacterial infection? is there a medication to keep on hand to treat mouth rot if its suspected? also, can mouth rot just occur if they've somehow damaged their mouth (like scratched it on a plant or something)? any information would be helpful. also if ive just skipped over the post that already gives all this info, just give me the link? thank you!! :)