Sign in to follow this  
amynmitchell

What Is Safe?

We are vegans and always have lots of fruit and veggies around. We have a small pearlscale and Rynkin (I can never spell that right). They are about an inch and a half. I am new to goldfish, so I've been feeding them goldfish flakes in the morning and at night they usually get a small veg/fruit treat (so far, orange slice, cucumber, spinach, peas). I only feed an amount at each feeding equilivant to their eye size. Is this too much fruit and veggies for them? Is there anything I should avoid?

Thanks!

You can never feed your fish too much fruits and veggies!! However, you do want to make sure that they are getting enough protein. I suggest you look for a high-protein pellet food, such as ProGold, Omega One, New Life Spectrum, or Hikari Gold, to feed along with a fruit/veggie diet. I'm no fan of flake food-- they seem to cause more problems than they're worth, especially with deep-bodied fish. You can even make gel food if you want more of an all-in-one food to feed.

Why don't you take a browse around the Goldfish Food forum and see what other people have fed? Or browse gel food recipes? It should give you some good ideas.

As for what to avoid, anything that is not a fresh fruit or vegetable or specially formulated for fish is something to avoid. For example, stay away from feeding bread, unless you are using it as a way to feed your fish the immune-boosting garlic juice.

Thanks! I will keep the fruits and veggies going. I added brine shrimp to the mix tonight and they went crazy for it. I wanted to try bloodworms, but was afraid I'd get too grossed out. I will try that later on though. I can't afford to toss the flakes (I wish I had read up on them beforehand) but I'm going to start soaking them for safey and will make sure to get pellets on the next round. I always have lots of avocado on hand and thought that might make a nice treat once in a while, too.