Plant Questions

lantern567

Maybe I should have put this into contests, except that I don't know the answers. :)

What is a hanging plant that does not need a lot of water, that I can have outside during the summer? It would get sun about 4 hours a day at midday, and our summer temperatures are usually 70-85 degrees. I worry that I wouldn't water it every day, so I'd rather use something that's not too sensitive.

I have a other question, too, about orchids. I just got some orchids this spring, and I am thinking of putting them outside for the summer. Would they like being over by the pond waterfall where it's misty, maybe in coconut hull pots? One looks so sad in its orchid pot, with tentacles coming out trying to find moisture. I keep it by the kitchen sink and keep dabbing them, but there has to be a better way. (Like I said, I'm new to this. :blink: )

"tentacles" creeping out of an orchid's pot (which I will assume are its roots, lol) is a sign of a healthy plant, as orchids are adapted to put out its root systems as far as they go to get a firm hold in their treetop habitats. Overwatering which leads to the dying and rotting back of the roots is one of the surest ways to kill an otherwise hardy plant. The rule of thumb with orchids isgenerally just to keep their potting medium slightly moist but not damp, so as to enable air circulation to be in contact with the roots. They could go next to a waterfall but they'll more likely to thrive if you took them out of their pots or just actually remove all traces of the potting medium from the pots. That way, the potting medium would not get too soggy from the spray and humidity. The plants will still get the necessary air to its roots and they usually collect moisture more from their leaves than their roots anyway.

As for a suggestion for a hanging plant to suit your requirements, um... try a Christmas cactus?

Interesting idea, Christmas Cactus. That might do nicely.