New To Goldifish, Need Advice

Hi everyone,

I am so excited to have found this forum. I could use some help. I have a lot of fish experience (I used to have a seventy-five gallon saltwater years ago), but I am brand new to goldfish. Last Tuesday my friend gave me her ten-gallon tank and had it stocked with five tropical fish (including a very nasty Chinese Algae Eater) and one beautiful little pearl scale. We emptied 75% of the water and I had to clean the gravel (it had never been cleaned) but I left the media in the filter. I just changed the carbon filter yeseterday (it had never been changed). I've had two water tests done and the quality is great.

I did some research and realized the tropicals had to go. So they went and in came an air pump and airtstone, one live plant, and one adorable little Calico Runykin. Both fish are currently about an inch to an inch and a half. I switched them to goldfish food (she had the pearl scale on tropical flakes) and have been alternating them with peas, spinach, cucumber, and an orange slice. I plan to add some worms and brine to the mix as well.

My question is that I am being told various things on if I can add another fish or not. I would like to add a third Runykin or if I can find one a China Doll (though she may later get picked on). My fish shops are telling me I can have up to six goldfish in this tank, but I know that is crazy. I am chaging twenty-five percent of the water weekly and we plan to upgrade the tank to at least a forty to fifty-five in the next year. So will three be okay until then? Are there any caretaking things I should know? Any help or advice is greatly appreciated. Sorry for the long post.