Biologists: Who And What Kind?

Erinaceus

I noticed that a number of people here are biologists (or something in the same general area :rolleyes: ) or will be in the near future, and I was curious what everyone does research for, does has as a speciality or is planning to have as a speciality :hi Some already mentioned it in the 'What Do You Do For A Living?' topic, but usually only briefly. And I'm known for my curiosity :peeka:rofl

I did an undergrad degree in biology and did seabird research in Alaska (very cool!).

Now I'm doing my masters, it's mostly on the impacts of humans on stream systems...I do a lot of hydraulic and landscape connectivity type stuff. I use GIS...if anyone here knows what that is.

I'm hoping to get a job either continuing to do freshwater ecology, or as an instructor in one of the university labs :D (I finish my degree in a year)

I did an undergrad degree in biology and did seabird research in Alaska (very cool!).

Now I'm doing my masters, it's mostly on the impacts of humans on stream systems...I do a lot of hydraulic and landscape connectivity type stuff. I use GIS...if anyone here knows what that is.

I'm hoping to get a job either continuing to do freshwater ecology, or as an instructor in one of the university labs :D (I finish my degree in a year)

I've heard of GIS, but I've never used it, though I know a couple of people who also use it in their research (mainly habitat connectivity wrt a certain type of rodent in Ethiopia). What was the seabird research about? :)

I'm actually specializing in habitat connectivity...so yes, loads of GIS.

I worked with auklets and petrels mostly, also 'encountered' plenty of gulls.....they chased me down and tried to poop on me everyday :rolleyes:

I'm actually specializing in habitat connectivity...so yes, loads of GIS.

I worked with auklets and petrels mostly, also 'encountered' plenty of gulls.....they chased me down and tried to poop on me everyday :rolleyes: