Feeding Earthworms To Goldfish

Guest ian-heather

Guest ian-heather

I feed chopped earthworms to my nine goldfish every other day and a good dried food in between, I have never had problems, [ so far ]. The worms are kept in moss [avoiding compost and its additives] for 2 to 3 days prior to use. Fish are healthy and dare I say it positively fat but then they must overwinter in Scotland in a pond, I hasten to point out I am not an expert but do find these little fish interesting and amusing to watch.

The problem I have is water quality. Ponds are both 100 gallons + one flows into other via cascade and pump and filtration, 9 fish 3 to 4 ins long and living plants to remove excessive nitrates. All this being said the water at cascade produces not a foam but little patches of bubbles from time to time and I note that there is a definite correlation between worm feeding and 2 hrs later these bubbles appearing.

At no time have fish appeared unwell they are very active, but I would like to know in advance if I may experience problems.

I have fed my tank goldies earthworms from time to time and I have never had any problems. The bubbles could be by an extra "pulse" of organic matter after the fish digest the worms. I have noticed the same thing in my tank after feeding certain types of food.

I would be cautious feeding earth worms unless you make sure they purge themselves of everything that they eat for at least 48 hours. Worms consume a lot organic matter including fertilizers and such. They also carry several pathogens. If you are looking for a high quality worm food I would go with hikari frozen bloodworms. Much safer

• 3 weeks later...
I have fed my tank goldies earthworms from time to time and I have never had any problems. The bubbles could be by an extra "pulse" of organic matter after the fish digest the worms. I have noticed the same thing in my tank after feeding certain types of food.