Sign in to follow this  
kat

Crash Course In Tropical Fish Keeping

Hi all,

I have a 60 litre tank (15 gallon) which is too small for keeping goldies long term, usually has been my quarantine tank. I have been keeping goldies for 6 years now, know the basics about water quality, but have never used the aquarium heater much.

I would like to set this tank up with tropical freshwater fish. For a start, I know that I want kuhli loaches (at least 4), as they sound lovely, but will not be good for my goldie tank which goes as low as 10-15C in winter.

I would like your advise on what I should do differently to what I know now when starting my first small tropical fish tank. I am just guessing most of the concepts are the same. I know I should especially read up about all fish types I'm planning to get and get the water parameters accurate, as goldies are hardy tolerant things.

1. Should I try fishless cycling? Or is it not necessarily as small tropicals produce too little waste, and I can just add a few fish at a time?)

2. Heater matters. My tap water is really cold in winter. Do I put a bit of boiled water in the new water to raise the temperature during water changes? What else should I be aware of?

3. What goes well with Kuhli loaches? I've been reading the following http://www.auspet.com/fish08.html and thinking of:

* Kuhli loaches (my must have!)

* Upside Down Catfish? They look cool to me.

* gourami - is this a good idea, and which breed is smaller and less aggressive?

* tetras of somesort, but which one should I attempt?

What do you think? Can you give me some ideas on other breeds I should check out, perhaps ones common in shops here. I would like some colour in my tank, as it's a small one I have to choose wisely.

4. Can someone explain salting requirements for tropicals? I use sea salt as a preventative measure for my goldie tank, but I hear tropicals need a certain amount of salt, but is it for the same reasons as goldfish?