Sign in to follow this  
Guest DoodleBug

What's The Longest You've Had A Goldie & What Kind Was It?

Guest DoodleBug

What's the longest you've had a goldie & what kind was it? And how long do your goldfish typically live?

I'm just curious. :hummm I've been keeping goldfish for 2 years now. I try to keep a clean, uncrowded tank and watch the water quality as best I know how. But in spite of my best efforts, I'd say the average life span of my fish has probably been a year. I do have one fish (Diamond) that has been with me from the beginning, but the others have come and gone. The insulting part is, I have a coworker who has had a goldfish several years inspite of not monitoring the water quality or doing regular water changes. (I've tried to teach her about what I've learned here and even given her some of my testing strips, but she just isn't concerned.) I'm thinking it must have something to do with the kinds of fish we keep. Hers is a comet and I keep fancy goldies. I know that the large bellies of the fancies make them more likely to have problems.

I know that goldfish are supposed to be fairly long living fish, so I was curious to find out what kind of success others typically have in keeping them in home aquariums. Is my experience typical, or is there something about their care that I'm still missing? I can't imagine what it would be....I've certainly done my share of reading on Koko's!

It seems like some goldies are just more hardy than others. When I was a kid and knew nothing about proper fish care, I kept a common alive for 7 years, yet in the past few years I've had fancies die after just a year or two. I think a lot of it has to do with genetics, etc.

As for fancies, I had a moore who lived (also through some bad conditions before I knew better) for about 6 years, and the only reason he died was a pH crash. Actually, he's the guy in my avatar :)