Still/sleeping Lionhead

Guest Jenniferlucy

Guest Jenniferlucy

Hi, I'm fairly new to the goldfish world but I have 3 small goldfish in my tank, it's a 30L Biorb. The tank's been running for about 2 months now with no problem at all and only change the filtration system as instructed by the Biorb guide. They live from fish food flakes and I have had no problems with them at all so far. However in the last couple of weeks, I've noticed that my lionhead (the other two are Orandas) has started floating at the surface the correct way up. The first time i saw him it scared the22 out of me but as soon as I moved towards the tank he swam off. I have seen him do it about 5 more times since this. He seems to be in no pain or discomfort and seems perfectly happy when he swims off, I just want to know why he is doing this and is it normal for Lionheads?

Thankyou!!

Hello and welcome to Kokos.

I am glad you have found us because you will now be able to solve your fishes problems. They are, I suspect, starting to react to poor water conditions.

The first bit of bad news is that I'm afraid the Biorbs are no good for Gfish; they are too small and lack the necessary levels of filtration required to process the Gfishes high waste output. Common GF need at least 20gals each whilst fancies need at least 10G - 30L is short of 10gals so 3 are living in space for less than 1. Fishstores never tell you this, mostly because their employees do not usually know much about fish!

1)Before going any further I recommend a very big water change with de-chlorinated temperature matched water. This will bring down the elevated levels of waste in the tank and make the fish a little more comfortable.

2)Next, read the two links below my signature to get a fix on the basics.

3)You will need to get yourself a water-testing kit - understanding your water-chemistry is essential, as the fishes life-line is the good water you supply.