New Here, Thought I'd Show You My Fish.....

Guest Ethan25

Guest Ethan25

I have had a koi pond for around 5 years now, and now have a 46 gallon bowfront aquarium at my work office. I have purchased two red capped orandas, an all red/orange oranda, and two ryunkin from local petstores (all special ordered). They have been pretty good quality in my own opinion. Any thoughts?

First picture is of entire tank, second is of the 5 inch red capped oranda ($15), third is of the black and red striped ryunkin ($5), fourth is of the calico oranda ($5), and fifth and sixth pictures are of the 7 inch red capped oranda ($30).

Thanks! I am here to learn, as I am new to this hobby! My filtration is a medium sized fluval canister filter, a Penguin 350 Powerwheel, and a 20% waterchange once to twice a week. I also add koi clay once every two weeks.

Ethan

n1952460_40407745_2456.jpg

n1952460_40407926_504.jpg

n1952460_40407879_5976.jpg

n1952460_40408070_5503.jpg

n1952460_40408010_3975.jpg

n1952460_40408007_1530.jpg

Guest Ethan25

Thank you all for your kind comments! I really appreciate them! I really love this hobby. I actually just picked up a nice panda oranda yesterday, but I am waiting to put it in the tank until after quarantine. It is 5". I will see if I can get a picture this week.

Of the two red caps, which is better?

Ethan

Congratulations on all your fish - they look beautiful, and so wonderfully chubby! :heart

As to which redcap is better, the general consensus is in a redcap that the less red on the rest of his body, the better. A redcap should have no other red except on its headgrowth, but its very hard to find such fish. And even if you did, there is no guarantee that it stays that way. I have a redcap that only has red on its cap, but if I look closely, I can see the red spreading ever so slowly to some parts of the head outside its headgrowth.