Growing Oranda

Guest Repsychus

Guest Repsychus

Hello, everyone! I'm back again. I have my 40 gallon set up for my giant orange Futa and my growing 4-inch shub, Suna. I have two 15s as well that are occupied by a sweet little calico fantail and another occupied by just a little baby oranda. I don't know much about the breed, it's my first time dealing with anything with a wen, so I'm wondering what I can do to make him/her more comfortable. I'm already setting up the baby's tank with a few plants, some moss, and a good filter. Everything is pretty well conditioned, just with a few fluxes in ph now and then (I think it's the oranges I fed him/her last week), but I wanted to know more about this wen thing.

First off, what's the best food for growing a wen? What sort of prep does that food need and what seemed to work best?

Is there anything I need to worry about amounts of food I'm giving? I know that I can't give them fruit more than once or twice a month, but what about other foods? Do they have limits?

How long will it take to grow a good wen? I've only had the little cutie for a few months now and he's probably only an inch as it is.

Oh! And, lastly, how do I keep him at a relatively chocolate color? I know babies will change a lot, but I wondered if there was something I could do to keep him at least a light brown?

Thanks, guys! I appreciate this SO MUCH. ^^

~ Repsychus ~

what's the best food for growing a wen?

I fed my lionhead and oranda Hikari lionhead and they had amazing wen growth...to the point where I thought I was going to have to trim them!!!

In the case of my fish, it took about 6 months to grow really nice wens.

+1 on the hikari lionhead i feed it too all my goldies not just my fish with wens pearl has had some great wen growth and my fish have increased in size a fair bit as well also it is a good colour enhancer food