Mollie Breeding

Trico

Okay, I want to save as many of these guys possible... I tryed to make a little fish catcher but it backfired in my face...the thing didn't work it was too wobbly and left open areas where mollies could get trapped under. I want a safe way for my mollies to have fry, but I want as little stress as possible (which is why I'm staying away from confined plastic/net breeders) any ideas?

Any help would be appreciated!

oh and heres a pic of my idea, for better conceptual understanding; Pic

I am by no means an expert on fish breeding, but this might work, provided you have an extra tank:

Take the mother fish out of her tank and put her in a separate tank, let her birth the fry, then move her back to the normal tank. Then you can raise the fry in the separate tank, and there's no chance of any getting eaten/hurt.

If there aren't any more replies, I would try reposting the topic in another section of the message board.

Put a lot of plasic plants on the bottom of the tank for the babies to hide in. There are also things at the pet store that you can buy that sepatates the babies from the mother after their born. Your idea might also work. Give it a try. In fish keeping a lot is learned by trying different things.