New To The Web Site

Guest KathrynO

Guest KathrynO

I am new to this web site and wanted to introduce myself. I got interested in goldfish when I worked in a fish store in high school. I kept a goldfish aquarium for over ten years, but had to get rid of it while some work was being done on my house. For some reason, I never set it up again and ten years passed by. Then, in 2005 I set my tank up and got two orandas - a medium orange one named Jacques-Imo and a large calico named Oscar.

After about a year, Jacques-Imo started having equilibrium problems and couldn't swim upright at all. The guy at the fish store said he had permanent damage from constipation. I started soaking their pellets prior to feeding and gave them some green peas a few times per week. After about a year of living upside down, Jacques-Imo finally started having problems getting to the food and passed away in September 2007.

I decided to get another roommate for Oscar last week and went to the fish store to get a small fish. I couldn't decide between a small solid orange oranda and a small orange and white veiltail so I got both. Oscar is larger than my fist and seems to like his two little friends.

My current set-up is a 20-gallon with an undergravel filter with powerhead and a Whisper power filter. I use a magnet to clean the front and sides, but like the algae growth on the plants, wood, filter tubes, etc.

I found this site yesterday and have been re-educating myself on proper care. I had not been testing my water and was changing 40% once per month. I just went out and got a test - pH was 7.5, no ammonia or nitrite, and nitrate was 5. Even though the numbers look good, I will start changing 25% once per week, especially now that I have added two fish.