Water Quality Issue,...

Guest Auld_Fishie

Guest Auld_Fishie

Hi there.

Any advice would be appreciated on my tank dilemma as I am new to the fish keeping thing!

My tank (60 litres) has been set up for 2 months now and have four fish (orandas/fantails, unsure as quite young) and they all seemed happy until recently. Since having the tank set up we did water changes (10-20%) every other day for the first 2 weeks and then went down to once a week. pH was sitting around the 7 mark (however, now i know its important to test more often than we had).

A couple of weeks ago we noticed one of the fish (smallest of the 4) was clamping his fins and looking generally miserable, no other obvious signs of disease. We took a sample of our water up to the pet shop and he said things looked ok (we had just done a water change though) and gave us some King British Revitaliser Tonic to add. We added this and the fish perked up in a few days. However, since we noticed the clamping of the fins I've been doing pH tests and its sitting around the 6-6.5 mark!! a few times its even dropped to about 5.5, which i know is too low........Past few weeks we have done more frequent water changes and since yesterday we are going to do one every day for a week to see if this maked a difference. However, nothing has budged the pH so far!

All the other fish are bright and happy! Today the smallest fish has just been at the surface watching bubbles, looking rather lethargic again :(

Additionally, over this period brown algae has grown in the tank and we realise this may be from overfeeding so we have cut back recently. Also bubbled produced by the filter/air stone collect for a wee bit on the surface before popping...is this a sign of bad water??