New Tank

terisather

Hello Everyone!

I finally got my new 20 gallon tank and it is set up. I have a 30 gallon Penguin filter and am running it with one filter cartridge right now. The tank has one live gf friendly plant in it and aquarium decor that produces bubbles. I went to the store and bought a 24 cent common gf to help me cycle the tank. I thought I had learned a lot of valuable lessons with the set up and cycling of my 10 gallon, but I am still confused as to what to expect from this new tank. The new tank has been up and running for 8 days. I have an API Master Water Testing kit and have been testing my new water everyday. Ammonia - 0, Nitrates - 0, Nitrites - 0, ph - 7.8. When I set it up, I used the recommended amount of Cycle and have used it once again, 2 days ago. I used water from a water change from my 10 g, rocks, and the old filter (my new Penguin has space for three filters) from the 10 g. I bought the tank so I could have more Orandas, I love my "Booger" (he is living in the 10 gallon right now) so much that I want more!

When can I expect to see "cycling" of the tank? When will it be safe to get my Orandas?

I have been reading all the posts on tank set up and have only been able to pick up tid-bits here and there. I want the whole story from top to bottom! :rolleyes: If any one can give me a summation of what to expect and answer my two questions, that would be much appreciated!

I would think you would see ammonia very soon, as you're feeding the common goldie and of course, he's pooping :P Once that happens you're on your way.

Just wondering, what are you planning to do with the common? He won't be able to mix with orandas, he'll be too fast and eat all their food.