Am I Doing Everything Right?

Lolafish

You can tell from some of my recent posts, I'm having issues with nitrites. Just getting frustrated because I've only cycled two tanks successfully, and I am still learning stuff all the time, trying to get better at it.

My 55 and 45 have been cycling since Oct. 31st with seeded BB's. Right now, I have the params equal in both tanks, and when I do WC's, I do the same in each with the new water. I've had nitrites since day 12. They are not going down yet though. With the exception of the last week (my RO unit's Chloramine blaster expired...and I have to buy a new filter), I was using 50-50 of water from my pool and RO water. Since a week ago, I am using strictly pool water. The pool water's params are:

0 ammonia, 0 nitrites, 10-20 nitrates (this varies)

PH - 8.5 approx.

KH - 51

When I do WC's, I add PRIME, ARAGAMILK, and ALKALINE BUFFER to stabilize the water. The water is seasoned 24 hours in advance per day to allow temperature matching to the tanks. The temp in the tanks run 76-80.

After a daily 50% WC, the params are:

0 ammonia, .5 nitrites, 20 nitrates

PH - 7.9

KH - 107

Within 12 hours, nitrites rises to 1ppm. In order to keep to a 24 hour regimen, I add a double dose of PRIME to protect the fish for the next 12 hours. Of course since nitrites have been present, I keep the tanks salted with Kosher salt to .1% The fish seem to be doing okay - no bottom sitting and healthy appetites. Speaking of appetites, I feed sparingly once per day, with 1-3 fast days per week, depending on what's going on in the tank.