Overfed Oranda

Smilingfish

Background before details:

Married to an experienced "fish guy". We have 11 aquariums 10 freshwater & 1 marine. Enjoying my first 29 gallon aquarium of three months but have encountered an issue with my black & orange Oranda. He earlier suffered with an air bladder problem. We placed him in a hosipital tank, fed frozen peas. He recovered wonderfully.

Unfortunately as a fancy goldfish novice I made the newbie mistake of overfeeding him frozen peas this past week. Now he is laying on bottom of the tank, dorsal fin is flat, has fin rot, low activity, white/clearish thin poos, treated tank w/ parasite clear for past 2 days, & began Maracyn today. He is eating tubinex worms. Am I missing something else or is this just a matter of time to see whether he survives. I feel terrible having caused one of my fish such distress.

Thanks in advance.

Hello Smilingfish - welcome to Kokos and sorry to hear about your fish.

Before we go any further it would really speed things up if you could post back with as many answers from the white diagnosis box at the top of this section. Infact, here, I'll paste it for you:

Please provide the following details when requesting help for Goldfish Problems: Test Results for the Following:

Ammonia Level?

Nitrite Level?

Nitrate level?

Ph Level, (If possible,KH and GH and chloramines)?

Ph Level out of the Tap?

Tank size (How many Gals) and How long has it been running?

What is the name and size of the filter/s?

How often do you change the water and how much?

How many fish in the tank and their size?

What kind of water additives or conditioners?

Any medications added to the tank?

Add any new fish to the tank?

What do you feed your fish?

Any unusual findings on the fish such as "grains of salt",

bloody streaks, frayed fins or fungus?

Any unusual behavior like staying

at the bottom, not eating, ect..?

You can cut and paste with the answers on your next post.