Sign in to follow this  
thekatiedid

Transporting Goldfish On Holiday?

Hey everyone - first of all, I wanted to thank everyone for the "pea" trick in helping my fantail with his swim bladder! It worked out so well, and I'm so pleased to not have him be wobbly and unhappy anymore.

I am a college student with a 10 gallon tank on my desk - I have a 2.5 gallon tank that I originally bought, before I knew of the dangers of nitrates and toxins (the pet store was no help, either). Nonetheless, I am flying home for Thanksgiving and cannot take them with me, and was planning on sending them home with a friend who drives home about two hours. Could the two (fantails about just under two inches in body) survive in the 2.5 gallon tank with fresh water just for the week? Would transporting them in the car be dangerous?

I'd love to hear thoughts.. I don't have that many options (they lock my building during the break, and the people staying on campus aren't ones I know very well).

Thanks so much!

The fish can be fine driving for the 2+ hours to your friend's house. For a week, they can also be ok, if your friend can be counted upon to do a few things for them.

1. Do not have your friend feed the fish regularly. This means NO food. Your fish are really too small to fast for a full week - they would survive, but it would be nicer to give them something, though. SO - for one week, give your friend the amount of food your fish would normally eat in ONE DAY. Have him feed them midweek.

2. Your friend will also need to do water changes. This means your friend will need you to walk him through exactly what to do - step by step. Give your friend a bottle of dechlorinator and show him exactly how to use it.

3. I am assuming the fish will be without a filter for the week. They would really be helped by having an air stone in the tank, though. Can you send a small filter with your friend? Empty, completely, if you wish.