Ranchu Breeding

Guest stars

Hello Experts,

I live in southern part of india. I am a goldfish hobbyist and more craze about ranchus. I have good varieties of goldfishes in my house. Many goldfishes used to breed naturally in our climatic conditions. I strictly follows the water paramters. I does 20% water change every day. I have a common question about goldfish breeding. In spite of great difficulty i hav imported a ranchu fish from china (Tunghoi,China). It is around 12 to 15 months old now. They looks very healthy and active. I hav 2 males and 3 females and the females looks very fat and i am sure that it is carying eggs but the males are not at all chasing what could be wrong with these set of fishes. Is that the fishes from Tunghoi (china) were steriled before sending to other countries? Please expereiced experts comments on this. Is there is any alternate ways to make my ranchus to lay eggs or mate. And also i need to know durng what ages these ranchus tend to mate or start to breed? Thank You in advance for your valuable suggestions.

Stars

Edited by stars

Hi Stars & welcome to koko's

There are many factors at play to make goldfish breed. Some of the variables are: change in water temperature, change in atmospheric pressure, seasons, mood of the fish, and etc etc.

Goldfish are suppose to have been able to spawn when they're 6 months old, but it varies also.

Before we go further, can you describe to us in detail the things below:

- How big is the tank/pond?

- What kind of filter have you got there?

- How many fish & how big? (nose to end of tail)

- What kind of food do you feed them?

Hello,

Thank you for your reply.

1. How big is the tank/pond?

Its a 3 feet by 15 by 15. I have concrete ponds also with 1 1/2 feet depth and 3 ft in length, do have tubs also of the same dimension.

2. What kind of filter have you got there?

I have kept air stone (rena)

3. How many fish & how big? (nose to end of tail)