Sign in to follow this  
Guest LadyJ

Koi In A 80 Gal Tank

Guest LadyJ

Hi-

I'm new to keeping koi, bought a house witha large pond abput 5,000 gal. The previous owner took most of their fish with them, but left lots of goldies and two koi. I am working on a filter system for the existing pond before I seriously start geting fish.

Recently I lost my large Oscar from my 80 gal tank, and decided to purchase 4, 4" imported high quality kio to grow inside for about a year and then move outside. By then the filter should be rockin!

In my tank with the new babies I have a pleco who is about 18" long. How much impact does he have on water to fish ratio with the koi? I dont want to be in an over stocked situation!

Any one have experience with plecos in a unheated pond situation? I live in seattle, not the warmest climate, but not the coldest either. He is by far my oldest fish and I couldn't stand to loose him, But I would be thrilled if he could have all the room in the pond.

Hoping for some good feedback!

LadyJ

The thing is, with the pleco, he's most likely a common plec, and they need tropical temps which would be OK during the day, but at night if your pond drops temperature, he might not do well. Plecs also get a little squirrelly and jump at times, he could find himself outside the pond. He sounds amazing though, you should snap a picture of him!!

As for the koi in the tank....eh...... how big are they? I really, really don't recommend having 4 koi, no matter how small in an 80 gallon tank. Maybe if they were just TINY you could get away with it for awhile, but that'd only be about 20 gallons per koi (not counting that massive pleco, he's a HUGE poop factory!)