New 300 Gal Stock Tank, Set-up And Running!

vmlola

:) Well, I was not sure what forum to put this in, so I chose here, because the stock tank is outside and kind of "Pond Like"!

My son bought me the Rubbermaid 300 gal stock tank for an early "Mother's Day" present! :heart Such a nice boy! I have been slowly getting it set-up under my patio. It was a place I felt would work with the heat and constant sunshine we get here. So I am hoping it works for most of the summer. I have a tarp hanging off the patio roof that is tied back and can be spread out to give more shade if needed!

Heres the tank when Erik rolled it into the backyard!

IMG_1064-1.jpg

This is after it was cleaned and filled!

IMG_1083.jpg

I added Fairy Moss and then started to add some of my Goldfish!

IMG_1111.jpg

The Fairy Moss really makes a nice surface cover for shade!

IMG_1079.jpg

This is with the filter running! I got a Pond Master 1700 running along with the sponge filters I had running in my temporary Rubbermaid tubs!

IMG_1168.jpg

I have some live plants weighted down on the bottom, which I'm sure will become a "Salad Bar"!

IMG_1169.jpg

IMG_1170.jpg

:) Oh, I do have one question! Does rain water throw anything off in such a small tub? It doesn't rain much here, but when it does its uaually pretty hard. Do I need to do anything after a rain storm? The tub is at the open end of my covered patio, so it would get some rain water in it.

Looks good - great start! How are the new inhabitants so far?

Thanks! Yeah it was quite the surprise to get it, but I was thrilled to say the least!

I moved goldfish that I already had, no new ones, into the tub, a couple at a time over the week and a half, and they are all doing great! They seemed a bit lost at first, but then decided they loved all the swimming space!

Now which goldies are now living in paradise?

I took my Ranchus and Lionheads and put them in there! Plus my big Black Moor!