Sign in to follow this  
Guest pfargo

Help Oranda

Guest pfargo

Hi! I'm a newbie to keeping fish. I set up my 29 gallon tank two weeks ago added TopFin water conditioner and API Stress Coat as recommended on bottles. Used 1/2 recommended TopFin Conditioning Salt. Tank is currently cycling. I put in two Oranda's on Monday (bodies 3 1/2 inches and 2 1/2 inches. Bouth them from vvvv. I had been keeping my eye on them in the store for a couple of weeks and the tanks they were in looked healthy as did the fish.

I currently get a 1ppm reading on Ammonia, 1ppm Nitrite, and 20ppn Nitrate. I did a 15% water change yesterday after getting a 1ppm ammonia reading. The tank is in my office so I am only with the fish 8am-5pm. I have a timer for my light. I do not have a heater. My larger Orange/white oranda is getting a frayed tail today. She has not been as energetic. She did eat this morning. I have been feeding Omega One flakes and pellets - alternating meals.

Please tell me what the Frayed fin and lack of energy might be from and what I should do before she gets any worse.

Thanks!

From reading your post, I think you are familiar with "cycling" a tank. What I would suggest, is a larger water change. I would do about 40% to counteract the ammonia and nitrite level. Check your levels tomorrow, and do another large water change, if necessary. Keep this up until you are reading 0 ammonia, 0 nitrite and a low nitrate reading.

Keep a very close eye on ammonia and nitrite levels until your tank is cycled. Do you know the ph of your water? Ammonia is more toxic at higher ph levels.

Welcome to the hobby!

It sounds like your fish could be experiencing something due to the water quality; while I am not one of the classic pros here, hopefully I can offer some help. Prior to your 15% water change, had you done any water changes on this tank? Also, what type of filter / media are you using?