Help - Dying Fish - New At This

Guest newbie_nana

Guest newbie_nana

Hello -

I found this website while surfing for info about caring for Goldfish. I'm a total newbie at this. I'm staying with my son & his family and trying to save a fish and the other occupants.

The children have a 10g tank with a bottom filter, no heater, plastic plants, gravel bottom with some river rocks. There are 2 neon tetras, 1 plecostomus (sp?), one fancy goldfish, and one pearly-white moor (I think). They have had difficulty keeping their fish alive.

The moor was hovering near the water output and seemed to be gasping for breath/at the bubbles for a few days. I used a test strip to check the water. It was: too high in nitrates and nitrites. I went to the local pet place where my grandchildren got the fish. They suggested that I first exchange 3g of water and use an additive to dechlorinate and 'balance' the water. I did that and checked the water. At first it was fine, then it was too high in nitrites. I called the pet store and they told me to add aquarium salt (3 Tbsp.). I did that; by now the sick white moor was seeming to have balance issues, and difficulty swimming up to the surface; it mainly is laying on the bottom.

I really don't know what I'm doing, but want to try to learn and help save the fish. I need help quickly!

Nana

Hi Nana and welcome to the site. I saw your other thread but did not reply as I am not an expert. Sometimes it takes a bit for someone to help but be patient. In the meantime, can you answer as many questions as possible in the box above? That will help us get to the problem. From what I can see, you are overstocked. Rule of thumb is 10gallons per fancy goldfish and 20 per single tailed goldfish. Are any of the fish new?

Please post back soon. :)

Here are some links to help you understand cycling of the tank and other things. :)

http://www.kokosgoldfish.com/tensteps.html

http://www.kokosgoldfish.com/care.html

http://www.kokosgoldfish.com/cycle.html