Sign in to follow this  
Guest under water tea party

Buyer Beware, And Be Responsible

Guest under water tea party

while ive worked as a large animal tech for some years, and for pet stores years before college, i admit im no expert. im new to this forum and newish to goldfish (im a former herpt-oholic). ive read a number of members stories of 'rescuing' goldfish, from lfs, wal mart, where have you. to those of you who have succesfully (or not) brought fish home, kept them alive (or not),i first congratulate your efforts but second by saying that by purchasing diseased fish from these establishments,you are still creating revenue for the store that you bought the fish from, and making room for the fish that come to replace them. these are the puppy mill or meth lab equivalents of supply meets demand. for every success story there are twice the not-so-successful stories. just be aware that when you stroll past a tank that has sad guppies or goldfish gazing at you you might be anthromorphizing (humanizing) a little and perpetuating animal wholesaling. send (especially) wal mart and local fish stores that sell unwell animals a message by not spending your pet care dollars there.

Thats a good point but some of us cant stand to watch one little fish die before our eyes. The only reason I dont do this is becuase I dont have money to do this!

Thanks for that little pointer!

Meh....there are as many unwell fish at my local petstore.And I know for a fact that they & my local Mart of Wal get their fish from the same place.Our Mart of Wal takes 100% better care of the fish when they get them though!