Adding Oxygen To Bring Nitrites Down?

Guest Juliosmom

Guest Juliosmom

I'm overstocked. 10 gallon ... 2 small BMs and 1 1.5" red Oranda. I've been working to get my nitrites/nitrates in line. Ammonia and pH are fine and remain steady. A larger tank is not in the cards for me at the moment.

I was speaking to my brother who is a hydrogeologist and a 'water' professional. I was attempting to explain my problems with my tank and he told me to increase the oxygen going into the tank and that would help with my nitrite problem. My nitrites hover between.3 and .8, I haven't been able to get them any lower due to my overstocking issue. My question is ... If I add an airstone and increase the oxygen, will this actually help? I'm running an Aquaclear 30 at the moment.

Thanks for any clarification anyone can offer!

:blink:

I've not heard of that method before but I'm no expert. In the meantime I'd suggest a very large water change, I was extemely overstocked for awhile and the only thing that helped me was water changes sometimes 4 times a day! It was exausting. And trust me I tried everything! I had aeration on my 39 gallon tank that was meant for a 100 gallon tank and still had very high nitrites for several weeks. Prime will also help detoxify nitrites.

Good Luck! Hang in there nitrites means the end of cycling he** is near!

Airstones are nearly useless for increasing aeration rates.

Buy a small powerhead and direct the output across the length of the tank.

Add additional media to your filter (bio-media would be best).

Clean or replace the first mechanical filter often.

Do lots of small water changes.

Buy a bigger tank.

Guest Juliosmom

Good to know about the airstones! Thanks.

I had a very small 'filter' that came with my son's little tropical tank. It was useless as a filter but man, does it move the water. I've added that to the tank and put it across the length as per Yer's suggestion.