Worlds Largest Goldfish

Guest Wayneo

Hi

I'm not a goldfish expert, but I bought this property in New Zealand 5 years ago. It has a 1 acre pond, and I have not seen anything in there unil last weekend, when I saw a .5 metre goldfish. I managed to take some photo's of it. I have put him up for sale on the New Zealand auction site "Trademe.co.nz" for a laugh to see if anyone was interested in him. I've already had the radio station calling. The previous owner of this property released goldfish into the pond more than 20 years ago. No one has see anything until now. I have come to the conclusion he is a pearlscale from info I have read on the net. The world record for biggest gold fish is about 18 inches (47cm), this guy is way over 50cm. Go to the following url if you are interested: http://www.trademe.co.nz/Browse/Listing.aspx?id=88384073 I am wondering if he maybe the biggest ever? Appreciate any comments. Thanks.

Looks big - but extremely unusual shape.The fish looks deformed to me but I suppose it just possibly could be a very old pearlscale mix.

Yes well to me it dont look like a true pearlscale. They are as round as they are long like an oragne. Maybe he is a mix. Does he swim ok? See the last picture in my sig... that is a pearlscale. Like I said someone smarter then me well come along. BTW anyway you can get a clearer picture?

Sure is a big fish. When did you see him first?

Wayneo, that 47cm record is for biggest double-tailed goldfish. Single-tailed goldfish is always bigger than double-tailed, and 50+cm is not unusual. Your fish is a single-tailed. It's a big fish, but not record-breaking.

Now, about what kind of goldfish Hercules is. I think he's a common goldfish, and a very sick one. See the last photo? The Hercules' scales seems to be very pineconed, and that's a sure sign of a disease called dropsy, which is usually fatal. The second last pic looks like pearlscale, but the last pic is almost certain to be dropsy.