Sign in to follow this  
dengundam

Putting In Goldies

I am not good at adding new goldies in please help how do u do it?

from Dengundam merry christmas to all

I usualy let the bags float for about 15 minutes to let the tempmerature even out more slowly. Then I gradualy add tank water to the bag and vice-versa. After maybe 5 minutes of this I gently pour the fish and water into the tank. I usualy place the fish bag into a large paper bag for the drive as this minimizes stress. (I have heard.)

Some sources say to let the bag float for a longer time but I only do it for about 15 minutes because it gives the fish a shorter time in the bag and I already have a long drive to the pet store which is bad for the fish.

Any other opinions?

Guest shin

My method is that I let the bag float in the tank for 20-30 mins to adjust the temp, then I add bits of tank water very slowly and gradually for usually about 10 mins and I let it sit for another 5 minutes. I then either net the fish out or scoop it out and dispose of the bag water. Much like MyGoldfishIsLumpy's procedure.

Other methods are also used such as the drip method(I believe thats the name) but I can't explain it because I've personally never tried it. But, I believe you use an airline tubing and you place the fish with the water in the bucket and let the tank water slowly drip down. (Please correct me if I'm wrong) Or something like that. Hopefully someone with more experience will answer this soon.

Guest Spaz

I'd like to hear more about this "Drip method" as well, since we have fish in our "wild pond" that might move inside at somepoint, now that we have a free tank. I don't want to kill them with the change from canal water to tank water.