Goldfishes Size

Guest Nutrafin

Guest Nutrafin

My goldfish is fantail goldfish although I dont know what species anyway I am a little worried that it is not growing well but everything looks fine D4 my goldfish does not have any diseases and nothings wrong with it but it is not growing very big I have owned D4 for 3 months I am new to taking care of goldfish but I try to find out everything about goldfish. :o

Hi Nutrafin :) Welcome to Koko's-

I will have to agree with Tropicana, D4 might not be growing due to stunting, Often time's this will happen in the Pet Store's and we don't realize the severity of it right away. There is a chance that he is still a baby (in my opnion anyawy's), You say that you have had D4 for 3 Month's--Just keep an eye on him, He might start growing like a weed. The size of the tank will factor in also, Like Tropicana mentioned. :)

Good Luck with him! Keep us posted.

I belive that stunted means that it was kept in a small tank/bowl and it is permanately small. It may cause problems like swim bladder or a slightly mishapen body.

I would definitely wait a little while before jumping to conclusions though. What/how much is he eating?

Genetic's play a huge role in how fast your goldfish grows,along with the first 160 days of it's life.Pristene water and good healthy food also play key roles.

Stunted fish may appear normal on the outside,but inside they may have alot of issues down the road with their health and such.

Guest Nutrafin

It is 1.77 us gallons the petstore said that is enoufgh for the size of my goldfish :D

It is 1.77 us gallons the petstore said that is enough for the size of my goldfish :D

That's why your fish isn't growing. 1.77 gallons is WAY WAY WAY to small for a goldfish. The rule is 10 gallons per goldfish. However a 10 gallon tank is still to small to keep even one goldfish healthy as it gets bigger. I would recommend getting a 29 gallon aquarium. Anything smaller is to small for even one adult goldfish.