Sick Fish (hexamita?)

Guest swimmingoranda

Guest swimmingoranda

I bought an Oranda about 1 month ago. I was pleased with his size, shape and he comes from a local breeder, which is nice.

At first he was active and fascinating to watch. Then after a few days he developed this incredible large blister on his "cheek" -- the right side of his face. It was red, angry and to tell you the truth, I wouldn't be happy if I had something like that on my face. He became lethargic and sad, the blister grew and grew. He did eat, but that was his only activity.

Then the blister started to ooze. Grotesque is a good way to put it. After a day or so the wound was a large gaping hole where the blister was. Hexamita (Hole-in-the-head) was all I could think of. His poop has always been stringy and clear.

I did some reading (I'm new at this) and treated the tank with "General Cure". The girl at the pet shop (an experienced, noteworthy local store) gave me some advice. She made the thumb across the throat motion. Let him die then get a new fish. I thought that was cruel.

Meanwhile, his wound looked like it was healing, still gross to look at, but nothing like it was at its worst. The tank is at .3% with salt and all water chemistry is closely monitored and I have not had any trouble. I do frequent water changes and keep things clean.

He was well for about 2 weeks or so. Now, his fins are starting to look damaged or frayed, lethargy is back and yet again the cheek is starting to get a red hue to it and it is starting to grow, as in "bulge" like the blister growth of a few weeks ago.

I've ordered Metro-Med and I'm waiting patiently for its delivery. It will be here after the weekend.

Any advice or words of wisdom? Any experience? If you have anything, please share.

Sorry for the long, long post.

-Chris

Guest swimmingoranda

IMPORTANT DETAILS

I neglected to add this information on my original post:

- All water parameters are good -- nothing unusual to report