Looking For Ideas

Guest elise

Hey everyone,

I'm going to be getting 9 or so baby comet goldies this spring from someone who is raising them up for me. I'll be keeping them in a baby pool or two until they get larger. I have a pond, but it is located on my family's campground, and it is a catch-and-release fishing pond. I'd like to somehow section off a no-fishing area for the goldies... just wondering if any of you had an idea of how to go about doing this? Thanks! :)

Well the section off the pond might not be a good idea because say a crazy goldfish will jump over the section, harmful parasites, and if the goldfish get out they will compete with other fish.... You could build a pond only for the goldies but i wouldnt recomend the sectioning off the pond... Im not an expert, but that is wat i would think.. Levi

How big is your pond and is it land locked (no rivers running in or out)?

If your pond has a river or stream running in or out it would be illegal to put goldfish in it and you could get into trouble. If your family is renting a spot on the camp ground and doesn't actually own the pond you could also get into trouble for adding goldfish.

Assuming your pond is land locked and your family owns it. The only way I know that you could section an area off for no fishing would be with a large net. I have a large land locked pond in wisconsin with goldfish in it so your ponds condition in New york will be simular to mine. Just for reference my pond is about 1 acre (43,560 square feet) and 25 feet deep.

Goldfish won't stay in one area so unless you have an area sectioned off with a net for your goldfish the goldfish will swim around the whole pond.

My goldfish swim freely though out my pond and are currently 16-18 inches long. As long as your goldfish don't have diseases or parasites when you put them in your pond there nothing you need to worry about.