Substrate For A Planted Tank

Tinkokeshi

ok so in much excitement for finally being able to set up my 72 gal, i've resumed my planning for what i want to do with the tank. :D

if i do freshwater, i really want to try a hand at keeping a planted tank. since i've never done this before, i'm looking for some suggestions. my thoughts right now are either more fancies, maybe comets, tropicals or i really am thinking about getting an arrowana. :D

but IF i do goldies in a planted tank, i've got my eye on this stuff by caribsea it's called eco complete plant substrate, and it comes in 20 lb bags. i just wanted to know if those of y'all who have used it before would recommend it, and how much i'd need for a 72 gal tank? the only color of the eco complete i've found is black. is black a good color for a substrate? i'm afraid it'll make the tank look too "dark". :unsure:

would it be best to have my tank bottom be completely substrate? or should it mix it in with gravel?

thanks in advance for any suggestions and help! :heart

First of all congrats on the new tank :D It all sounds very exciting and you are doing very well getting everything prepared and thought over before taking action!

I would think black substrate could look very nice in a huge tank like that. There is a member who keeps panda telescopes with a black substrate, or was it black mixed with white gravel....mmm, anyway that looked fantastic.

A planted tank looks wonderful :heart . I like a color coordinated theme personally. So the fish colors show up well.

What kind of plants are you planning on ?

If you do a planted tank, you need to pay particular attention to the lighting. Look into compact fluorescent (sometimes called power compact) lighting. This gives you a much higher intensity than regular fluorescent.