Sign in to follow this  
Guest SeeQuee

Goldfish Questions

Guest SeeQuee

Hi Everyone,

I am a Goldfish newbie. I have been working on getting a tank situated and getting my fish as comfy as possible. This is the first time I have ever had fish, so I started out totally clueless. Hopefully as I have gone along (only about a month or so) I have learned more. So right now, I have a 20 gallon tank and two Orandas that I got at seperate times. My first one, I got about a week ago, and then a couple days ago I fell in love with this beautiful orange oranda with black fins. SO, my question for right now is, my newest fish ( I dont have a name yet) has burrowed out a hole in the gravel of my tank. What does this mean?

Thank you so much:)

Stephani

A few questions that will help us help you and your fish:

Do you have any water testing equipment? If you could tell us your water parameters that would help a lot. Like readings for ammonia, nitrites, nitrates and ph. Do you know about cycling the tank? If not, I provided a link below that explains it.

How often are you changing the water in your tank? How much water do you change at a time and do you vacuum the gravel? What sort of water conditioner (if any) are you using?

Do you have a filter and if so what kind?

Also, does your fish look like he is trying to scratch himself or rub himself on the bottom when burrowing? Does he have any other things that look different like fins clamped tightly to his body, white spots anywhere, torn/frayed fins, staying at the bottom, breathing fast? Is he eating and pooping ok?

Sorry for all the questions. just some things that will help everyone help you figure out what might be wrong, if anything. Fish do dig around in the gravel, especially looking for food, but rubbbing/scratching against it can be signs of parasites, and because there is a new fish that makes that even more likely