Cycled Betta Vase?

toothless

can a 1 gallon vase with a bundle of water plants growing roots into the water operate as a "cycled tank"? what if i were to use an airline as a vacuum 1-2 times a week and 25% water changes using distilled water? im a newbie to bettas so sorry if these questions are too elementary. :hi

well, ifound out that distilled water is a no no. and that this bettas setup is not very good. i will make sure his owner is well informed about betta care.(i found a very comprehensive caresheet after an extensive search) :hi

This is one of the worst set ups for a betta

What? it can filter it self up NO WAY they can so say what they want but

sirsly do you guys think that it would work

and i bet it says "does not need to be taken care of" or some thing like that

lol i saw the same thing

belive me stay with a jar or Aquarium

I don't see how any container big or small can successfully become established/cycled unless there is a filter system of some sort. If anyone can explain to me in detail as to why a tank or little bowl can build a successful working bio filter without mechanical filtration I would be very interested in reading it. I just assumed that those little glass bowls people put bettas in worked because they changed the water so much. Not because the little bowl ever becomes "established/cycled". I'm always open to learning something new if someone has any input on this.

a cycle is possible without a filter, but a mega MEGA low speed cycle, maybe enough biological filtration to deal with 1 small neon in a 10 gal tank..... purely from bacteria living on surface area.

hope the neon to tank ratio drills home how little filtration this is :)

yeah deffinettly, no dispute about that, just explaining that there is some form of chemistry without a filter :) , and yeah a thousand gal tank for a gf :) , wanna try it ? lol!

Guest Luke Anderson