Goldfish Gestation Period

Terry

Hi there

I am a novice with a 10,000Ltr garden pond (about 3yrs old) stocked with goldfish of various ages, no fancy ones but all appear to be healthy. One of the larger ones seems to be pregnant. She has been about the same (large) size for about three weeks. I have no idea what the avarage gestation period is so please enlighten me! Also, can goldfish control their gestation period to suit their conditions?

I'm not sure how long it takes for the eggs to develop.... Have you noticed any of your other fish chasing her around? Can you look striaght down on her from the top? Is her stomach swollen evenly on both sides or is one side more swollen than the other? If you haven't seen anyone chasing her and her sides look even then you might be having a totally different problem than her making eggs. If one side is slightly more swollen or you've seen someone chsing her she could be just about ready to lay her eggs. After that, if the male does his job, you could have babies in less than a week :D

Welcome to Kokos! :D

Hi nichjake, thanks for replying. Well there doesn't seem to be any chasing going on. I had a good look from above and I would say both her sides are even in shape so, as you mentioned, there may be some other problem. Apart from her shape there are no other clues (to my inexperienced eye), - she, and all the others appear to be healthy and active, good colour, fins erect etc. What now!? I guess I'll just keep looking for any signs of change in her "condition". Maybe, if she's not pregnant, she's not a she!

• 2 weeks later...

Must be at about 5 weeks now. She still looks very large and very healthy and very un-chased! (unchaste?). Watching & waiting. Should I do something?

Once the males start chasing her, she will be inclined to drop her eggs. My female drops her eggs about every 11-13 days. some though drop as often as every 7 days.

If she doesnt drop her eggs, she will reabsorb them and you should be just fine :)