Emergency Ph Problem....

kila

I have just performed my routine water tests and my PH readings have gone off the chart....but it's which way, up or down that I'm confused about.

For the past 6 months since the tank has been set up the readings have always been the same:

From tap: 7.4

In tank: 8.0

Tonight they are way off.

I have an Aqua Pharm Master Test Kit and always use the High Range Test because that's where my reading always are.

On the High Range test I am at 8.8 or probably higher because that's as high as it measures.

Out of curiosity I measured with the Low Range test and I'm 7.6 on that.

What's going on?

Which is the correct result?

I don't know how to act until I can figure this out.

All other readings are fine:

Ammonia - 0

Nitrite - 0

Nitrate - 10

I will test my KH and post back....I'm in a bit of a panic tizzy.

The fish are vunerable as they are being treated for parasites and this could push them over the edge. They have just finished a course of meds and are now salted to 0.1%.

Could this be a factor? They've been salted to 0.3% before with no problems like this.

Any ideas? Help!!

This a bit bizarre. I did that test about 30 mins after salting to 0.1% and the readings were 8.8.

I wrote the last post a few minutes ago and re-tested while I was waiting for help.

The PH is back down to 8.0.

This is impossible right? Could the addition of salt give such a false reading. I did the test quite soon after adding it. I presumed I must've tested incorrectly the first time so I redid the test adding one then two too many drops and then adding one then two too few but none of that resulted in a 8.8 reading.

I'm just relieved that I don't have a majot PH probelm on my hands.....or do I?

I'll test it again in an hour.

The high range test is the correct one to use. If I'm not mistaken the upper limit on the low range test is 7.6 so that's the highest it will test.