Sign in to follow this  
daryl

Epistylis Pictures And Questions.....

As you know, I have been scoping for several months now, trying to figure out what is going on with one of my fish, Rocky. He went on an unauthorized "pond tour" a couple of summers ago and came back with something that I have been refering to as "The Creeping Crud". It comes and goes, and, no matter what treatments I have done, seems to reoccur with irregularity.

I had thought that Epistylis was a good guess, but, since it did not die with .3% salt or with salt dips, I had second thoughts. It is also said that it thrives in water full of detrius and less than quality parameters. Rocky has been in a large, clean tank - the filter boxes are cleaned regularly. The tank is run bare bottom. The water is UV treated. Yet he continued to show signs of "crud".

His "crud" consisted of whitish tufts - on his tail, head, sides and back. The tufts at times were very densely fuzzy - at other times seemed to have little strings with dots at the ends of them extending from them. There is a red sore at the base of each tuft.

Salt dips seem to make them worse for a day and then they go away, mostly. Then they will clear, only to reappear about a month or two later.

I have scraped, scoped, micron filtered, pressed, examined salt dip leavings, etc. and have never seen anything that resembles the stuff that is shown in various pictures. NOw I am one of the world's worst microscope users, I admit, but I would have thought I would have seem SOMETHING!

So - here is my question....

Paul - would you take a look at this:

http://protist.i.hosei.ac.jp/PDB/Images/Ci...ylis/sp_n1.html

Those swarmers look very much like the things I kept questioning as being perhaps Trichodina. They are the same size as the things I am seeing.

http://microscope.mbl.edu/scripts/microsco...il&imageID=9852