I Don't Believe This

JenW

Hi guys, A couple of weeks ago, i pulled some plants out of my tank and set up an outdoor tub to try to regrow them and today, when i went out to check, i came across this tiny little critter that when i look more closely, appears to be a tiny fry :blink:

I wish I could take a good quality pic but the best i could take was this

DSCN0035.jpg

I couldn't believe it could survive out there but the water is primarily good, no ammonia or nitrites so my question is this, should i keep him out there? Or should I set up my little 5gal and filter? How does a change affect them? He's very energetic out in the tub so should I just continue to change the water out there?

Sheesh, i'm such a novice here and could do with some help :D

Now, will you look at that - a surprise fry! :happydance So, he basically can't be older than 2-3 weeks, right?

How cold does it get out there at the moment? Wait, Australia has summer right now, so no cold? He definetely can survive out there, the plants and small particles in the water provide him with enough nutrients to munch on, and he is a single fry, so there is plenty just for him alone.

The question is, would you rather have him someplace where you can control better how he eats, and even get him a little filtration? How big is that tub he is in now? Maybe if you stick a small sponge filter in there, it'll make him really happy. :) Or you can always get that 5 gl tank and stick a sponge filter in there, preferably one that has been in an established tank already, so its cycled. The move shouldn't stress the fry too much, since you would be using water from his tub right now, without adding any other water at the moment.

Baby, baby, baby..... :lol:

I'd say he's definitely only 2 weeks old if I count how long the plants have been there :D

The temps here are fairly hot right now and the water outside is about 85degrees :blink: