Male In Heat...

Krystalized

My male fantail is in heat (staring) and was recently trying to spawn the other fish.. (I guess, my knowledge isn't too great in this area, I am still learning) -- The other fantail that doesnt have the staring looks rather fat. They are acting normal right now, but if the fish were to have eggs.. I wouldnt even know what they'd look like...

I really don't know what I am trying to ask.. I guess I just wanted to know what the eggs would look like, and will the male fertilize them himself by instinct? -- I have 3 fantails in a 20 gallon tank (i know i need to upgrade sometime soon) -- only one is experience the breeding stars and one looks extra round bellied.

Krystalized, eggs would look either clearish with a small dot inside after a few days (those would be the fertilized eggs), or opaque looking (those are unfertilized), and the latter ones need to be removed, otherwise they might cause fungus and troubles for the fertilized eggs and fry later on. Eggs cling to anything in the tank - glass, ornaments, plants, etc., that is usually a sure fire way that you see eggs. Of course, a hungry adult goldfish trying to gobble up tiny dots that hang around on the bottom is another sure way... :lol:

And yes, males fertilize them per instinct. There are things that can trigger spawning - bigger water changes, drop or raise in temperature, even low pressure systems and full moons. Adding a new adult fish also can cause a spawning frenzy, so does moving into a new environment and the change of water conditions that comes with it.

I got new big koi a few years back (our first koi) from an aging koi keeper who couldn't take care of them anymore, and for 3 full days I did nothing but clean up their tub after they kept on spawning! :thud

I haven't ever seen my fish "milt" or any eggs in the tank. -- I do have a tropical tank though and once my swordtails had babies.. they were so cute.