fantailfan1

• Replies 165
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

AAAAGGHHHHH!!! :o

That's what I was afraid people would tell me. So I've had my fantail "Dorothy" for over 3 years and have never had eggs. I added a ryukin "Shoomey" in July.

Now a few questions:

When a female lays eggs, are they already fertilized?

Since I've had Dorothy for 3 years and no eggs have been laid, is Dorothy most likely a "Donald" and my ryukin laid the eggs? Or would a female not lay eggs without the presence of a male?

I know these are silly questions but I know absolutely nothing about breeding. (Obviously.)

I guess those parasites I've been treating them for for over 2 months can't be bothering them too much. ;)

If they are eggs, what should I do? I don't really think I want any babies. Of course, I don't want to kill them either. But I'm still working on treating my fish for parasites and don't want a tank full of baby fish and parasites.

Help!! :krazy:

• Admin

they look like small specks of sand, If the eggs look clear you could set up a small tank for them and take the eggs out, but dont try to detach them take the whole thing out there on.

KEep the new tank warm around 78F you should see new fry in about 3-5 days, dont run a filter on them cause they cant swim, also dont feed them till they are about 4-5 days old and swimming freely....

Of course if you are really not wanting babies or have room, you can vacuum them out. This is what I did a couple years back. Of course now I wish I hadn't for I have been wanting babies from my Smudge and Jester............ah well maybe they'll do it again sometime. Koko waited forever for her little ones she has now.

Either way, keep us posted.

How do I know if they have been fertilized? I was reading another thread and it said white and fuzzy = unfertilized, clear with black spots = fertilized.