Helpppp...ich/ick Attack On My Goldies

Guest navi

Hello there,im a newbie with an aquarium i had wo goldies for over a yr n recetly got a bigger tank and a few more goldies so total is now about 7.two almost 5-7 inches long ( these have been with me for over a yr)n 5 newbies barely an 1.1/2 inches long in a 30 gallon tank.

ive never used a heater.and like a fool i got two new sword plants from one of these special aquarium shops.(it was so shbby looking the shop itself i meant).n i think that was the ich carrier.now all my fishies r effected badly with couple sitting head down . Im been surfing this site for two days n i had couple of questions...

i bought rid-ich medication from vvvv n ive been treating my whole tank every two days sinc the past one weeks n did a 30% water change after the 3rd treatment like the lady in the store asked me too... its just gottten worse i see more spots than ever.the bottle says i could do treatments every 24 hrs n if necessary every 12 hrs (it sure looks necessary to me) but im worried after reading all ur posts...u guys seem to have an alternate cure with salt n temp...im really confused what to do.

can u please elaborate both treatment methods n whichever one will be more effective. esp how much of salt will i need to add for a 30 gallon tank n how do i introduce a heater into the tank with out shocking the fish with the temp change .

also should i remove the live plants n the ornaments n treat them with hot water and salt or the rid ich medication n remove the gravel completely n treat it the same way.

BTW can i combine the two treatments(my reason tells me no but i still like to reconfirm this)

pls help i can't bear to watch my fishy pals suffer i need to do somehing for them fast.

:cry

appreciate ur input

:cry:cry:cry

some more info about my tank n fishes forgot to add this in my earlier post.

Test Results for the Following:

Ammonia Level? Nitrite Level? Nitrate level?