Please Help.

Guest windy

I'm really new to keeping goldfish and my daughter loves them but i bought some fish to start the new tank we have. A little black fish (i think it's a molly) with a fan tail has a white fluffy growth on it's mouth. I have three other fish in the tank which are or seem to be very healthy. I don't have a clue as to whether the molly is going to infect the other fish or if he is going to be ill. He seems very happy in himself but I could really do with some help with this problem. PLease could someone give the advice i seek?

Is it a black moor you have? As mollies are tropical fish and need to be in a heated tank.

Mouth fungus can easily be treated with anti fungal remedies from the pet store.

I think it is a black moor, Sorry, but that goes to show how new i am at this.. I don't have any photo's as i don't have a digital camera. It's a little chunky black fish with pop out eyes and two tails, the other fish are 1 multicoloured, 2 like the black one but gold and his eyes are on top of his head (looks a bit like a hammerhead fish) and 3 a lovely normal goldfish.

But if you think it sounds like a fungus i'll get something from the pet shop. Thanks for your time and help. Many Thanks Ian and Miriam.

What size of tank are they in?

Being new to this and like all of us do we listen to the pet shop boys _pun intended_ and most of the time they are only after money and the hope that when your fish die you will be back for more.

Fancy tailed fish need a minimum of 10 gallons per fish and common goldies 15 with filtration 10 times the tank.

The fish are in a biorb 60 litre. I'm wondering if this is big enough now you said about the amount of gallons they need. They are only little fish at the moment, about 2 inches long at most. I picked up the fungus additive for the tank and hope this is going to do the job. Thanks again everyone for your concerns and help.

• 2 months later...