Do Goldfish Prefer Lots Of Swimming Room ?

PaNdeM0niuM

my goldfish spend most of the time on one side of the tank ....

they never go to the other side of the tank and spend most time in one half of the tank.

I noticed the side they spend most of the time, is the side where I drop all the food.

also, the side they don't swim in, is where the filter is

Question: do they spend most of their time on this side of the tank because they are anticipating food ??? or they are scared of the filter ??

also, my tank has a decoration in the middle of the tank - it takes up alot of room and covers most of the gravel.

It reduces the swimming space on the bottom.

question: if I re-arrange the tank and decorate it differently (so their is more swimming space), will the goldfish be more inclined to venture out and swim to the other side of the tank

probably anticipating food.....re: tank decor......im no expert but have been reading alot about keeping show quality ranchu ( tvr & svr ) and they are kept with no decor at all , plus recommended 100l per fish ! :blink: . I started off with plants . bogwood rock but am now starting to simplify me set up totally .

fishes.jpg

I have found that the fish much prefer more swimming space and also their growth rate has improved. IMO

wow !!

that's a gorgeous setup !!!!

just be careful to reguarly lift and move those rocks.....because uneaten food and poo will accumulate underneath and inbetween.

anyways.

back to the topic.

I re-arranged the tank, and when I moved the decorations (driftwood) -lots of poo was underneath.

So I vacuumed it up and my fish started to explore the tank more!

so I think the reason my fish were hanging on one side of the tank, was because something was bothering them (in that poo accumulation).