Experts..is This Water Ok?

Newfishmom

Guys..here are the official testings on my tank - I got a fancy test kit, not just the strips..here are the results..is this good: Ammonia: 0ppm; Nitrate .50 PH 7.2 Nitrate: 10ppm I also had this test for "High Range PH" that was 7.8 - also, my ph on water from tap is 7.6 - NOW WHAT?? Is this water ok for my fish..help..I am a newbie..

your nitrites are a little high, everything else looks good though. The pH is okay a little high, just so long as it doesn't fluctuate. Do you use a pH additive to your fish water? I would stop if you do, a pH of 7.6 is fine so long as its stable. I would do about a 25-20% water change to lower the nitrite, other than that your in good shape. :D

Readings look good, just need to get that nitrite to 0 as nickjake said.

Which test kit do you have? I ahve the Aquarium Pharm test kit and also have 2 pH tests. As far as i understand it, if you do the "regular" pH test (6.0-7.6) and your color matches one of the colors on the card, that reading is the pH of your water. If, however, your pH is as dark or darker than the darkest reading (7.6 on my card) then you do the high range pH test.

So if you have the same test kit as I do and your pH read 7.2 there would be no reason to test for high pH. And since the high range pH card begins at 7.4, 7.2 would be too low of a pH to register on the high range pH test (7.4-8.8).

Sorry that is kinda confusing. Please let me know if I can help clear that up!!

Hi fantail fan - I wondered why they had two types of pH tests - ok, so I can just stick with the normal one because I am in those parameters - what you said made perfect sense - and then a 30% water change will lower the nitrites - got it. Thanks!