Do Antibiotics Help Sbd?

Guest Gayle

Hello, I'm new to this and desparate. On Sun 16th I was given a fish to "Put out of her misery" as the owner couldn't face it. But I thought there must be a way to help which led me to your site.

This little Miss - a gold & white comet - has been living in a 2 gal bucket. I thought she was egg bound as she is belly-up on the bottom. She is incredibly swollen in the abdomen. She is calm and attempting to swim when I talk to her.

At first I tried massage until reading your advice that it would actualy do more harm.

Sun/Mon I had her in the epsom salts for 10 mins twice a day. She passed 6 inches long of pink then blue then clear. She would have eaten some pink & blue floating food. Tues I didn't feed her. Wednesday I fed cooked pea but I don't know if she ate any as I had put her in a 20 gal bucket with 3 other comets between 3 - 4inches long.

This is a temporary measure while I fix a pond up. They have a mixture of rain water and tap water (chlorinated but NZ water is still very drinkable from the tap.)

Iam now sure my Miss must have SBD. I've put her in the Epsom Salt bucket with no food. a couple of drops of Melafix and little bit of antibiotic.

Does anyone know if antibiotics help?

Tonight she looks the same, still belly-up on the bottom unless she makes the effort to swm when I go near and talk to (her?)