What To Feed My New Fish!

shark_energy

I have 4 fish - 2 Red Caps, a blackmoor and a regular goldfish. The lady in the shop (im new to this) said that there was some goldfish flakes in the tank box but DON'T use them as I was already using a certain brand of flakes for the existing goldfish we had and you shouldn't mix. Is this true?

Also, I read people giving their fishes treats, is this really good for them then? Bit of veg or food variety? Should they be treats alongside a daily feeding time or instead of?

Goldfish do best with a varied diet, so the lady in the shop was wrong in that respect. Flakes dont generally contain all the neccessary nutrients for goldfish and it is best to feed sinking high protein food as a staple part of their diet. www.goldfishconnection.com sell an excellent food called Progold which you might like to try?

As well as their pellets, it's good to feed peas (frozen and defrosted, shelled, then chopped well) twice a week to avopid constipation and swim bladder problems. It's also a good idea to feed live or frozen bloodworms and brineshrimp at least once a week. As well, as this, they do enjoy just about any fruit or vegetable as a treat a couple of times a week. Just use your common sense and shell, deskin it, cook it lightly if hard etc. Favourites of my fish are romaine lettuce, cucumber, orange (cut a round slice and float on top of tank), swede, peas, banana, green beans and sprouts. Fresh and frozen veg is fine but canned should be avoided as it has sugar and salt added.

I usually feed pellets for breakfast then either veg, fruit or live food in the evening. That way i know my fish get all the nutrients they need.