What Do You Think Of This Setup?

jen626

• Supporter

OK, I posted a few days ago about my ailing fish who has since passed away :-(

Now that I actually know something about goldfish, I am starting over. My daughter really wants a fish right away, and I don't have a lot to spend.

What do you think of this setup, as a temporary until I can get a bigger tank?

http://www.mmm.com/shop/product.aspx?sku...CMReferringUrl=

I would be putting one red cap oranda or one calico fantail in there until I can get a bigger tank, since I know 10 gallons per fish is best.

That tank has a filter, but do I need to add an aeration system to it as well? I have the air pumop from my old tank and can just get a new tube and a bar for the bubbles, right? Or do I need air at all?

Let me know what you think, thanks! I am totally open to constructive criticism since I am a complete newbie who nothing about goldfish until mine was sick and dying. I figure I could use this one as a hospital/quarantine tank after I get the bigger one. Thanks a million, this site rocks!

~Jen

Jen,

I am also a newbie, so take my suggestions with a grain of salt. I just recently went through something similar to what you have gone throught. I just finished cycling my 10 gallon at the expense of two lovely fish. That tank you are looking at is a really nice set up but you can find a 10 gallon for the same money with filter and hood. I have also seen a 20 gallon at nnnnnn for a little more money that included hood, light & filter. It may seem wierd but the bigger the tank the easier it is to care for. I cannot wait to move out of my 10 gallon as I have to watch my water parameters like a hawk. One hiccup and I could wipe out my fish population.

Welcome to an awsome hobby!!! It's addicting.