Cycling Tank - Nitrites Too High - Help!

Guest jdsacannon

Guest jdsacannon

I am relatively new to having a "large" (10 gallon) aquarium but not new to owning a goldfish. Honestly after reading all this info, I am amazed that my goldfish has lived the past 2 years. After starting in a bowl and then moving to a 2.5 gallon mini aquarium, I recently decided to move up to the 10 gallon. I knew nothing about testing the water/cycling/etc., until about a week ago. Anyway, after reading about the cycling, etc, I have begun testing the water and my levels are crazy. To give a little more background, my 2 yo son decided to "feed" the fish himself about a week ago and dumped the whole jar of food into the tank. I did my best to clean it using a gravel vac. I also had to replace the filter (not the insert but the whole mechanism). So, I'm assuming the tank is basically a week into it's cycle...I'm using a Jungle brand Quick Dip multi test kit to test my levels and here is what I'm getting...

Nitrate - somewhere between 0-20

Nitrite - 3.0 - 5.0

hardness - 300

alkalinity - 180-300

pH - 7.8

I'm doing a 50% water change at least twice a day. I've added salt to deal with the nitrite levels for the fish. I've tested my tap water even to make sure that the levels of nitrite were 0 in it. I'm really confused and concerned that I can't get these levels to come down. I don't mind changing the water at all - I don't want my fish to die! I just want to know how to make it better!!

:(

p.s. our goldfish is named Nemo, we've had him just over 2 years, and he's about 5 in long from tip to tail.

Hi! And :welcome

As you mentioned, your tank is going thru the cycle. A cycle can take as long as 8 weeks to complete. My cycle took about 4 weeks; every tank is different.

Your ammonia will be the first thing to go up; then it will go down as your nitrItes increase. Finally, nitrItes will give way to the nitrAtes.